Allofmp3 Community Forums

Welcome to the Allofmp3 Community Forums forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.
Go Back   Allofmp3 Community Forums > AllOfMP3/MP3Sparks > AllOfMP3/MP3Sparks General Discussion
Reload this Page aom3.org = IFPI/RIAA ???
Reply
 
LinkBack (2) Thread Tools Display Modes
  2 links from elsewhere to this Post. Click to view. (#1 (permalink)) Old
ashlgara (Offline)
Member
 
ashlgara's Avatar
 
Posts: 40
Thanks: 17
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2008
aom3.org = IFPI/RIAA ??? - 07-16-2008, 06:41 PM

So, when I logged into the mp3sparks site today they had this on their front page
Quote:
WARNING ALERT!

www.aom3.org is controlled by IFPI and RIAA lobby. Be careful about the information you leave at this site.
Any of the senior members want to comment?
Reply With Quote
Aom3.org Recommended Shops (Remove Ads)
  (#2 (permalink)) Old
vikulenka (Offline)
Senior Member
 
vikulenka's Avatar
 
Posts: 7,000
Thanks: 137
Thanked 164 Times in 144 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In your dreams
07-16-2008, 06:45 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlgara View Post
So, when I logged into the mp3sparks site today they had this on their front page


Any of the senior members want to comment?
Nice

Same sign up on memphismembers.com

What ingratitude


PrInSeSsE

Last edited by vikulenka; 07-16-2008 at 06:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  (#3 (permalink)) Old
Ashleyj (Online)
Senior Member
 
Ashleyj's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,021
Thanks: 33
Thanked 41 Times in 38 Posts
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Surrey, UK
07-16-2008, 06:53 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlgara View Post
So, when I logged into the mp3sparks site today they had this on their front page


Any of the senior members want to comment?
Just logged onto Sparks and I get it too

Not sure what it means, it might be that they are warning us users that aom3.org has been taken over by the IFPI and RIAA lobby and that we should be careful when we post here.

Can't see any problems myself, it all looks pretty normal to me.


Ashley
If you have one watch you know what the time is. But if you have two you don't know which one is right.

The more advice you get the more confusing it becomes.
Reply With Quote
  (#4 (permalink)) Old
ashlgara (Offline)
Member
 
ashlgara's Avatar
 
Posts: 40
Thanks: 17
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2008
07-16-2008, 07:01 PM

Quote:
Nice

Same sign up on memphismembers.com

What ingratitude
I take that to mean in your opinion the site is not RIAA affiliated?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashleyj View Post
and that we should be careful when we post here.
Should be common sense here, I would not be surprised at all if the RIAA at least monitors this site.

Last edited by ashlgara; 07-16-2008 at 07:03 PM. Reason: lack of multi quote ability
Reply With Quote
Aom3.org Recommended Shops (Remove Ads)
  (#5 (permalink)) Old
vikulenka (Offline)
Senior Member
 
vikulenka's Avatar
 
Posts: 7,000
Thanks: 137
Thanked 164 Times in 144 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In your dreams
07-16-2008, 07:01 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashleyj View Post
Just logged onto Sparks and I get it too

Not sure what it means, it might be that they are warning us users that aom3.org has been taken over by the IFPI and RIAA lobby and that we should be careful when we post here.

Can't see any problems myself, it all looks pretty normal to me.
Those are some very deep thoughts from Ashley


PrInSeSsE
Reply With Quote
  (#6 (permalink)) Old
Wren (Offline)
Senior Member
 
Posts: 182
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: France
07-16-2008, 07:02 PM

they just want to say that some members here are probably from IFPI or RIAA, nothing else more
Reply With Quote
  (#7 (permalink)) Old
Spazz (Offline)
Senior Member
 
Posts: 188
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Join Date: May 2007
07-16-2008, 07:04 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by vikulenka View Post
Nice

Same sign up on memphismembers.com

What ingratitude
Check the balance section. They also give you a warning.
Reply With Quote
Aom3.org Recommended Shops (Remove Ads)
  (#8 (permalink)) Old
ashlgara (Offline)
Member
 
ashlgara's Avatar
 
Posts: 40
Thanks: 17
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2008
07-16-2008, 07:07 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wren View Post
they just want to say that some members here are probably from IFPI or RIAA, nothing else more
I personally had already assumed that, my concern would be with the "control" part

Quote:
WARNING ALERT!

www.aom3.org is controlled by IFPI and RIAA lobby. Be careful about the information you leave at this site.
Reply With Quote
  (#9 (permalink)) Old
vikulenka (Offline)
Senior Member
 
vikulenka's Avatar
 
Posts: 7,000
Thanks: 137
Thanked 164 Times in 144 Posts
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In your dreams
07-16-2008, 07:08 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashlgara View Post
I take that to mean in your opinion the site is not RIAA affiliated?




Should be common sense here, I would not be surprised at all if the RIAA at least monitors this site.
On second thought, the russian word for "to monitor" and "to control" is the same - контролировать (controlirovat'). So, in broken English they are merely saying that RIAA monitors aom3.org!

I am going to write Assistance in Russian in a second and at least suggest the implications of their phrasing.


PrInSeSsE
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to vikulenka For This Useful Post:
tullrocksmyworld (08-26-2008)
  (#10 (permalink)) Old
Ashleyj (Online)
Senior Member
 
Ashleyj's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,021
Thanks: 33
Thanked 41 Times in 38 Posts
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Surrey, UK
07-16-2008, 07:13 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by vikulenka View Post
Those are some very deep thoughts from Ashley
Deep thoughts? My thoughts are never deep - only ever of you

Anyway I have just checked allTunes (the stand alone application and the website) and there is no mention of it on either.

I think that Wren maybe right and this site is being monitored - probably has been since day one, so nothing new there.

I would be very surprised if there is not at least one spy in the camp


Ashley
If you have one watch you know what the time is. But if you have two you don't know which one is right.

The more advice you get the more confusing it becomes.
Reply With Quote
Aom3.org Recommended Shops (Remove Ads)
Reply

Tags
aom3, ifpi, riaa

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump

LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.aom3.org/forum/f2/aom3-org-ifpi-riaa-2485.html
Posted By For Type Date
Digg - MP3sparks Thinks AOM3.org is RIAA This thread Refback 07-17-2008 09:21 PM
MP3Sparks Thinks Aom3.org is RIAA | Rutunes This thread Pingback 07-16-2008 08:21 PM




vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Aom3