Quote:
Originally Posted by solaris
Maybe if we have some Russian guys with us, they could tell us, if they are being transferred to Sparks aswell - if not: then it would make sense that they have changed their official name to AllOfMP3.ru.
solaris
|
Maybe it is to emphasize that they ARE in Russia, where they are operating legally under current law. .com is kind of associated with the USA (in the UK for example they have .co.uk). While anyone can use a .com domain, there is a certain assumption that it is an American thing. Hardly any Americans use .us. We kind of appropriated the original .com, gov, .org, and .edu TLDs. I guess that isn't surprising since the whole thing started out as a US defense project.
So anyway, I am guessing that it is about emphasizing their Russian-ness as part of their
PR campaign. It isn't like changing the domain to .ru keeps anyone else from accessing it. It just tells you immediately where they are. I think that has to be the point. Otherwise, if they wanted AOMP3 to become a "Russian Only" site, then why not just drop the English pages and not worry about the URL, which doesn't really matter, after all.